My Lines Don’t Rhyme (Spoken Word)

15228-feather-life-and-love_large

Is it a coincidence and that Life and Love
Sound strikingly similar,
Almost to the point that they rhyme?
Love and Life. What is one without the other?

My lines don’t rhyme…
But maybe I’ll try one more time

Before all of us on this journey start
Let me make it clear these lines don’t come from the heart
Thoughts inside my head fly like dart
But these rhymes don’t do justice on their part

They say penny for your thoughts but I don’t make a dime
Cuz I’m so constrained by this annoying rhyme
So I’m gonna do us all a favour and let this drop
That’s it, you heard me right. This is where the rhymes stop

My lines don’t rhyme
And they really don’t
Cuz I think I made a typo
Right at the start
I took a pen and paper
And as I put them one on each other
My thoughts choked altogether
And these thoughts – they conspired against me
and they made me realize
What I should’ve said all along
My LIFE don’t rhyme

My life is a poem
And so is yours (And yours, and yours)
Now the thing about poets
Is that we never know what they mean
For poets do not write to be understood

And as I sat prisoner
to these thoughts one evening
as the sun went down
I realized I was writing a poem with my life
That could not be understood
I knew for a fact that no one else did
Cuz I myself couldn’t

There was no rhyme or reason
For I just kept writing and living and writing and living
And the two were so intertwined with each other
That I realized that one was just as meaningless as the other

The more I made the lines
Of my life rhyme with each other
The more I realized that
They made less sense
The more I forced the rhymes
The lesser I could communicate

It took me a while
To understand what these rhymes were
What was I injecting into my life
In the hope of making it more musical?
What were these rhymes that seemed to
Make my life have a certain ring to it
While in reality, it made it just too simple and flat?

What were these rhymes that
Exchanged the transcendence of complexity
For the numbness of simplicity?

What were these rhymes
That convinced me to include them
In order to make my life, my poem interesting
When clearly it only did the opposite what
I intended it to do?

And as the sun dipped further below the horizon,
I was jolted to reality
As I came to realize
What these rhymes were

Is it a coincidence and that Life and Love
Sound strikingly similar,
Almost to the point that they rhyme?
Love and Life. What is one without the other?

The sun goes down
I open my eyes
The whole world sleeps
But only I rise

Let me hold the suspense a bit longer
I feel a little wise
What I didn’t understand
I now fully realize

That I look myself in the eyes
Cut myself down to size
Stifle my inner cries
And tell myself I’ve won the prize

But I RISE
Through my own deception,
I see the lies
And with this revelation,
My deception dies

For there are many rhymes that distract
But only one rhyme is true.
And it is but revealed to a few
You might think this is new
But its always been hiding in plain view

Don’t you see it?
Love and Life.
What’s one without the other?
Love and Life.
That’s the only true rhyme.

And somewhere
In the depths of your heart
You can hear them chime.

And now, my lines rhyme.

Leave a comment